Red areas denote 19 states with restrictions on publicly owned broadband networks. Craig Settles, author of “How to Navigate, Mitigate or Eliminate the Impacts of State Restrictions on Public Broadband” also includes California and Iowa in the list, for a total of 21 states. For an interactive map showing the nation’s 400 municipal networks, visit Community Broadband Networks.